Feed on
Posts
Comments

Website design rip off

My website is Techdesigns.co.uk

I received an anonymous e-mail informing me of these guys, (Update: website has since been removed after several e-mails and no initial response) who had pretty much copied my entire website (including text, photos, graphics and clients).

Comments?

Edit: It’s especially worth noting their amazing photoshop skills – check out how they’ve seamlessly edited the 2nd icon in (original image on top).

why post?yawn...on the fenceRippedMajor Rip! (43 votes, average: 4.79 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...
2,290 views

21 Responses to “Website design rip off”

  1. on 17 Aug 2008 at 7:41 pm Holly

    That’s unbelievable. Have you contacted them?

  2. on 17 Aug 2008 at 7:44 pm Joey

    Yep, have sent them a cease and desist.. it’s the second time in the last month or so this has happened.. wouldn’t mind so much but they’ve even stolen my clients!

  3. on 17 Aug 2008 at 7:48 pm Holly

    Well, I’ve just sent an angry message to their 24-hour quote address, it should at least get read. I reckon us You Thought We Wouldn’t Notice readers should go Amnesty International on their asses and spam them with angermail until they stop.

    I love how they’ve taken “The price you see is the price you pay” off the pricing page. Shady.

  4. on 17 Aug 2008 at 8:17 pm benjamin sTone

    Just dropped them a note about how they’re getting their 15 minutes of infamy and passed on a link to this page. :D

    Strangely, their front page seems to be acting up right now.

  5. on 17 Aug 2008 at 10:35 pm nomad

    “This Website is currently down for maintanance.”

    win.

  6. [...] you thought we wouldn’t notice » Blog Archive » Website design rip off [...]

  7. on 18 Aug 2008 at 10:56 am Manen

    … … … *Snickers*. That button… t-that edited version of the button is worthy of being on PhotoshopDisasters!

    Ahem- All ridicule aside… wow. This really makes you wonder what goes on in their minds, doesn’t it? “Oh, it must be a free layout, let’s do the same, HA!” or “Dude! His layout’s better then ours. We can’t have that! Take ittt!”. I’d really be curious to know.

    I hope they’ll finally get the picture and stop copying from you. It’s really low of them.

  8. on 18 Aug 2008 at 7:20 pm Brad Butterworth

    Hello,

    Im sorry for any inconvenice caused by this.

    The site has been taken down.

    Thanks Brad

  9. on 18 Aug 2008 at 7:38 pm Name

    The copied version is better. You should get him to help you out.

  10. on 19 Aug 2008 at 12:55 pm PaperCut

    What the site says now…
    “This Website is currently down for maintanance.

    Please return in the near future

    Thanks,

    UKDNS Team.”

    LOL

  11. on 19 Aug 2008 at 12:58 pm PaperCut

    LOL @ Brad Butterworth.

    what “inconvenience”?

    You stole somebody else’s design!

  12. on 19 Aug 2008 at 1:16 pm Name

    LOL @ PaperCut

    Nobody ever mentioned the word “inconvenience”.

  13. on 19 Aug 2008 at 1:42 pm PaperCut

    They did…

    “on 18 Aug 2008 at 7:20 pm Brad Butterworth
    Hello,

    Im sorry for any inconvenice caused by this.

    The site has been taken down.

    Thanks Brad”

  14. on 19 Aug 2008 at 7:39 pm Karee

    It will be interesting to see what they put up next…. as a “web designing” site, they can’t even design their own site?

    Very low!

  15. on 22 Aug 2008 at 1:26 am PaperCut

    I want to get it on with Brad, I have a thing for rebels.

  16. on 22 Aug 2008 at 1:59 pm Leopold Stotch

    Brad Butterworth?

    Surely not Mrs. Butterworth’s son?!?!

  17. on 06 Sep 2008 at 6:16 pm Dan

    No, definitely not. Mrs. Butterworth would only raise a good, honest, non stealing-son-of-a-bitch kid. She’s wholesome and old school like that.

  18. on 12 Dec 2008 at 2:54 am Greg

    How could anyone tell it was a copy? I would have just thought it was a another monstertemplate site.

    /Looks more like a hosting site then a design site.

  19. on 22 Mar 2009 at 12:51 am chaucolai

    Seriously, you can see the original’s black hair behind the superimposed face on the edited button xD

  20. on 15 Oct 2009 at 5:01 pm Ldw

    That sucks… Although it does look like your using a free wordpress template? Your site looks very generic with royalty free type of graphics… The idiots would have been better off just downloading a free WP site… People make it harder on themselves to be a thief…

    Idiots..

  21. on 17 Aug 2010 at 11:35 am beni

    Beware of Huther Advertising web design scams

    Beware of Huther Advertising ( http://huther.com/), 32 College St, Clinton, NY. Tel: 315-853-1744 web design scams

    I purchased a web design website from Huther Advertising in Clinton, NY ( http://huther.com/) . I now know I have been scammed but at the time I did not know that I should have seen a contract. It took 3 months of begging and pleading and threathening to get a VERY poorly designed site with incorrect information

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply