Brandon Day/Invocation
This post originally appeared on Fuck You Ripper
Hey guys. This is the first post on FYR and boy do we have a doozy right out of the gate. Meet Brandon Day. Brandon is a "graphic designer" from Kentucky who owns and operates a clothing company called Invocation.
Brandon's body count includes tracing artwork, stealing entire designs, and even stealing code from competitor's websites.
It should be noted that it would be hard to find any remaining evidence against Brandon because once he knew the art community was on to him, he dumped everything and shut down his store. Luckily we were able to get facebook to shutdown his page and get screen shots of everything before it was deleted. Lets take a look!

Matthew Skiff did this design for Ruckus Apparel. Brandon Day live traced the skull and deleted the pupil and spade.
elmondo.es steals my fanart!!!

Elmondo used a fan art pic i drew a while back and posted on my deviant art gallery, they took it without permission and posted it along side one of their news articles, all without adding any line of credit to me the original artist. and as if that wasn't unprofessional enough, they choose not to post my public comments. or answer my many emails.
link to original article...
http://www.elmundo.es/elmundo/2011/01/13/cultura/1294922146.html
here a link to the original peace and the pencil sketch!
i can understand if you thought is was the real cover, it actually happens alot. but the article is about the translated book, as in with a Spanish cover also, they should have known something was up. and i looked around the site no images have credit not even the writers it seems. but don't ignore my emails hoping it will blow over! I don't understand how according to their wiki they known as the number one source of news on the web in Spain. that bothers me.
Airsoft Atlanta and Brand Labs ripped off by Daniel Wood Design?
So, if you spend any time in the design/illustration profession, you’re likely to get ripped off. It’s an unfortunate fact of life. However, it’s pretty rare that it happens almost immediately and completely unashamedly, yet that’s what just happened to us here at Brand Labs.
Back on November 24, we posted about the launch of our newly-designed site for Airsoft Atlanta. We took a great deal of pride in that design, not only because it was so flipping badass, but because the client LOVED it. Well, by a freaky coincidence, the designer who created that site happened to be searching “Volusion web design” when he came across the site for The Crimson Hill. Now we’re no plagiarism scientists, so let’s look at this together and see if we all come to the same conclusion (our design is on the left):
Let's see... nonsensical mechanical header and footer connected by some sort of fictional belt drive? Check. Bullet-hole-ridden cement background? Check. (Though it must be noted that ours is seamless, whereas theirs is not.) Nearly identical hero image? Check. Nearly identical left nav exhaust fan? Check. Central, featured product area presented as on-screen images (complete with horizontal "monitor" lines)? Check. Extremely similar display fonts? Check. Hosted on Volusion? Check.
Now, we'll give Daniel Wood the benefit of the doubt and assume that he was following direct orders from the client. After all, we've all had clients who point to a site and say, "I want that." On the other hand, an ethical designer will do everything in their power to steer the client in a more original direction; trying to glean the elements that they truly respond to and then including those elements in the final design in a new way. It's a constant battle, but it's one that's worth fighting. But, now that this has happened, we need to alert the client that they've been ripped off and that there's very little we can do about it. We're not exactly sure why anyone would want to be the cause of that sort of thing. Isn't it always better just to come up with your own stuff? So much less drama...
UPDATE: I see in the comments that there are some non-believers and I understand their point, there's plenty of this sort of thing to be had out there on the interwebs, but here's the hook: The Crimson Hill basically confessed yesterday in a series of emails between them and one of our employees. It turns out that Crimson Hill approached us for a quote (which I didn't know at the time of the post) and our sales guy showed him the Airsoft site as an example. He didn't like our price so he went to a cheaper designer and (for all intents and purposes) told him to reproduce the Airsoft site. Regardless of how pervasive this style of design may be, the fact is that ours was built entirely from the ground up and theirs was built to ape ours.
UPDATED UPDATE: So, we've now been in touch with the owner of The Crimson Hill, and the fact is that he seems like a pretty nice guy. True, he came to us for a bid. True, he showed Airsoft Atlanta to the designer he eventually chose. True, it shares some obvious similarities with his final site design... however, he's made it clear to us that his intentions were not evil and he's currently taking steps to alter the more obviously similar elements. This may now be the closest thing to justice that a designer can hope for in such a case and we'd certainly rather make friends than enemies, so thank you Josh. We hope to cross paths again under more pleasant circumstances.
Muarapalma.com gets too inspired by 8Interactive’s new website
Muara Palma, a Malaysia based engineering company providing various design and engineering company got a little too inspired by the iPhone development company 8Interactive. So inspired they ripped-off 8Interactive's entire website.
Mura Palma have copied the text blatantly, from 8Interactives website, forgetting to remove the about page text and keeping text in various areas. The foundations of the visual design and layout are identical. They have tried and failed miserably to rip-off the design in many cases.
The worst part is the text in the about page text is there and indexed in google. They have not responded to various emails.
We are pretty sure this was not meant to be indexed by google just yet...But still blatant copying that we need to stop!
Perhaps you can contact them give them a real website? They list their phone numbers publicly on their website:
Mr. Hon Swee Sang, Phone: +6012 6313662, [email protected]
Mr. Mohd. Lazib Pit, Phone: +6013 8760195, [email protected]
About Page From 8Interactive:
Mura Palma's Mess
8Interactive Homepage
Mura Palmas Crude Adoption:
Ripped website discovered via forgotten Analytics code
A while ago, I created a website for the Moxie Production Group, a student film group at UC Santa Cruz. I sketched up a simple website for simple needs...
I just recently learned that a local bar/restaurant also enjoyed the design and loosely based their own website on it. A screenshot from their website, www.99bottles.com:
The kicker - and how I noticed the rip? Whoever decided to copy it forgot to remove the Google Analytics code snippet. I am still getting the access logs from the stolen website...
To be honest, I'm more amused than angry. Tip for future website thieves: Please make sure you're thorough in changing everything to match your own website!
Christopher Hewitt / Peach Creative

christoperhewitt.com seems to have inspired peachcreative.com.au
A couple of badly covered tracks - the email address link still points to Christopher Hewitt and the tag/filter (All / Commercial etc) from the original is still in the source, but commented out.
Doesn't really need any more explanation! Via QBN.
W3C Web Design, Steals Background images and Graphics from 61pixels.com
Edit: As of April 24th the owner of the rip has removed all of my images. He has also emailed me an apology and informed me he had no idea his designer had used my images to make the site.
I was alerted earlier today (April 22nd) by a very helpful web user that my site graphics had not only been completely ripped, but the suspect also submitted his site into a design competition. Luckily he only took my background images (and did a horrible job with the clone tool trying to erase elements). This isn't a case of a "full-rip" as the code and layout does vary. Although before the change, I counted 7 of my images being used as the prominent graphics throughout his site.
Original: http://www.61pixels.com
Rip-Off:
ab+c website rip
Original
Modified: Mon, 22 Dec 2008 1:57:23 AM
http://old.ab-c.com.au

Rip:
Modified: Mon, 5 Jan 2009 9:27:05 PM
http://jessica.bigarel.com

Thanks to Babadoo for the pickup.
http://badaboo.tumblr.com/post/68588527/jessicabigarel-con-flu-ence-n-1-a-flowing
—
Part 2
Re-rip:
Modified: Fri, 9 Jan 2009 10:50:44 AM
http://www.ab-c.com.au












